Angels Camp is the town that inspired the great Mark Twain to write his short story, “The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County”. This book was his first success. This annual event continues today from Thursday through Sunday in the first week of May.
This town like several other gold mining towns is built on the bottom and sides of a ravine. The town sports a business look to it. For example, the establishments that line the main street have iron shutters and fancy brick work.
The town was named after George Angel who discovered gold here in 1848. In actuality he was not a miner by trade but a merchant. He founded a trading post and made lots of money off of the miners by selling clothes and goods. Like just about all of the mining towns Angels Camp at one time had a population far beyond what it is today. In just one year from 1848 to 1849 the population of Angels Camp swelled to over 4,500. Today the population is about half of that.
Angels Camp Museum is located on 753 South Main Street. Like many of the other museums in the old gold mining towns they exhibit gold mining equipment, wagons, minerals, and artifacts. Allow at least one hour. They are closed on major holidays. Admission is $3. Phone Number (209) 736-2963.
O.A.R.S River Trips is located 1.7 miles south on Highway 49 from downtown Angels Camp. This company offers 1 to 3 days river rafting trips on several different rivers. They raft all three forks of the American River, the Tuolumne, Merced, the lower and upper Klamath, Stanislaus, Kern, and lastly the California Salmon rivers. Meals are included in the prices. Reservations are required. They are open daily from April through October. One day trips cost between $99 to $130. For more information call Phone Number (209) 736-4677 or 1-800-346-6277 or visit: www.oars.com/california